Annual General Meeting 2019


Dear APHN Members

We wish to inform you that the 18th Annual General Meeting will be held in Indonesia on Friday, 2nd August 2019, at the Grand City Convention and Exhibition, Jl. Gubeng Pojok No.1, Ketabang, Kec. Genteng, Kota SBY, Jawa Timur 60272, Indonesia. Please find notice of the meeting and the Agenda below. Additional items for the Agenda shall be made in writing to the Honorary Secretary by 19 July 2019 (Constitution 10.6). 

At the 19th Annual General Meeting to be held in Indonesia, the following Council Members will be will be stepping down. 

Appointed Members

• Dr Ong Wah Ying (Singapore)
• Professor Myo Nyunt (Myanmar)
• Dr Sue Marsden (New Zealand)
• Dr Agnes Bausa (Philippines)
• Professor Enoch Lai (Taiwan)
• Dr Sakon Singha (Thailand)

Co-opted Members

• Dr Annie Kwok (Hong Kong)
• Mr Kwan Kam Fan (Hong Kong)
• Mr Masanori Mori (Japan)
• Dr Ednin Hamzah (Malaysia)
• Associate Professor Cynthia Goh (Singapore)
• Dr Akhileswaran Ramaswamy (Singapore)

• Professor Wang Ying Wei (Taiwan)

Elected Members

• Associate Professor Ghauri Aggarwal (Australia)
• Associate Professor Amy Chow (Hong Kong)

• Professor Yoshiyuki Kizawa (Japan)
• Dr Jeanno Park (Korea)

• Professor So-Hi Kwon (Korea)
• Dr Rumalie Corvera (Philippines)
• Dr Chun Kai Fang (Taiwan)

Dr Jeanno Park, Prof So-Hi Kwon and Dr Rumalie Corvera are eligible for re-election. A/Prof Ghauri Aggarwal, A/Prof Amy Chow, Prof Yoshiyuki Kizawa and Dr Chun Kai Fang will not be eligible for re-election as they had been elected for two (2) consecutive terms. However, they will be eligible for co-option by the 19th Council.

There will be 7 council positions up for election.

Appointment of Council Members

Six appointed members in 2017 have served their 2-year terms and will be stepping down. Seven members will “be appointed by the sectors on a rotation to be determined alphabetically according to the name of the sectors.” (Constitution Article 12.2a). In the coming 19th Annual General Meeting, the following sectors shall be eligible to appoint 1 member each to the 19th and 20th APHN Council for a term of 2 years:

1. Vietnam
2. Australia
3. Hong Kong
4. India
5. Indonesia
6. Japan
7. Korea

Please note that “Council members shall also be Individual Members of the Association who reside in any of the sectors. A Council member appointed by a particular sector must be resident in that sector.” (Constitution 12.3).

Representatives to vote at the AGM (For Ordinary Organisational Members only)
Only fully paid up Ordinary Organisational Members are allowed to vote (Constitution Article 7). They need to be represented by an Individual Member resident in that sector (Constitution 11.7).

Payment of Membership Fee
Please ensure that your membership is up-to-date for:
• Ordinary Organisational Members if you are sending a representative to vote at the AGM;
• Individual Members if you are representing organisational member(s);
• Individual and Organisational Members if you are nominating and or seconding a candidate for Election.

Deadline for return of Forms
Appointment of Council Members to 19th and 20th APHN Council - 19 July 2019
Nomination for Election to APHN Council - 19 July 2019
Representative to attend 19th AGM - 26 July 2019

For enquiries, please email to or call +65-62355166 (Mondays to Fridays, 9.30 AM to 6.30 PM, GMT +8.00).

We look forward to seeing you in Indonesia.

With warm regards
Dr Annie Kwok
Honorary Secretary
Asia Pacific Hospice Palliative Care Network



Date : Friday, 2 August 2019
Time : 1230 to 1330 hrs
Venue : 3rd Floor, Diamond Room, Grand City Convention & Exhibition Centre, Surabaya


  1. Welcome by Chairman, Associate Professor Cynthia Goh
  2. Confirmation of Minutes of the 18th Annual General Meeting held on Thursday, 6 September 2018 in Sydney, Australia
  3. Matters Arising
  4. Elections to the 19th APHN Council
  5. Presentation of the Annual Report
  6. Presentation of the Audited Accounts for FY2018
  7. Appointment of Auditors for FY 2019
  8. Any other Business
  9. Date and Venue of next Annual General Meeting

Dr Annie Kwok

Honorary Secretary